Games of 2015 – The Finest Ten


Witcher 3Initially I wrote this article as I have always done. Unfortunately, I forgot to save the text file I wrote it in…and lost it all. I could have tried to rewrite it all, but that sounded far too dull. Instead I’ve presented my top 10 here as a more bullet-pointy list. Keep in mind that a) this list is totally my opinion and you probably (almost certainly) won’t agree with everything on it, and b) I didn’t play all the great new games this year. There were various reasons for this. Some I bought, but didn’t get round to playing; others I was waiting for a price drop to happen, that didn’t; others still, I just intend to wait to get. 

So without further ado here’s my top 10 of 2015:

10: Samurai Warriors Chronicles 3

Platform – PS Vita

The Warriors games are often feeling a little tired and stale to me now, but there was enough here to keep me going to the end. Still not bothering with a platinum though!

09: Fallout 4

Platform – PC Steam

You’d think this would be higher. You’d be wrong. It was good, but it was no New Vegas. Maybe after a few years of mods it might become a worthy sequel, but there was too much that annoyed me in this. Having said that, the gameplay is solid enough to keep it on the list.

08: Dragonball: Xenoverse

Platform: PC Steam

My first Dragonball game. I’ve only ever had a cursory knowledge of Dragonball, but this was actually a very fun game. It doesn’t look nearly as good as the Naruto games, but it had a good format that kept me coming back to level up.

07: Resident Evil: Revelations 2

Platform: PC Steam

A good addition to the series. It took what was good in Revelations 1, threw out the touch left-overs from DS and added a really good co-op function. Strangely it seems designed for the co-op player in single player to be a non-gamer – which worked out quite well for me.

06: Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate

Platform: PC uPlay

It’s been a while since I played an AC game. The last one I finished was Revelations. Along with Arkham-like stealth, Syndicate also has really likeable protagonists and some decently designed missions that don’t all feel cookie-cutter.

05: Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemist of Dusk

Platform: PS Vita

My first go at the long running Atelier series. This was great for train-journeys. Lots of character focus and some interesting crafting. Nicely open world and worked well even with its timer based gameplay.

04: Resident Evil HD REmaster

Platform: PC Steam

A really good HD port of an already stunning game. Nothing more needs to be said here.

03: Onechanbara Z2: Chaos

Platform: PlayStation 4

I didn’t think this would be so fun. I got it because of a general lack of hack and slash games at the time – but it was damn good. A good level of challenging too.

02: The Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt

Platform: PC GOG

This is really good enough to be first. Brilliant story, music, world, cinematic direction, acting…pretty much everything. Only let down was how it handled threads left from Witcher 1 and 2. No Saskia or Iorveth, nothing but a note from the Grandmaster, and an incomplete feeling romance storyline with Triss.

01: Pillars of Eternity

Platform: PC GOG

Dragon Age Origins was a damn good resurrection of the Baldur’s Gate style party-based RPG. Pillars is a perfect resurrection. The story was great, characters were excellent. The endurance meters and the special incident sequences were terrific. Without doubt my favourite game of the year.

 And so, there it is. My Top Ten. For reference here’s the list of games that came out this year that I wanted to play, but never got round to or didn’t become cheap enough to buy.

  • Grim Fandango: Remastered
  • Bladestorm: Nightmare
  • Mortal Kombat X
  • Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China
  • Rocket League
  • Deception IV: The Nightmare Princess
  • Way of the Samurai 4
  • Victor Vran
  • Fairy Fencer F
  • One Piece: Pirate Warriors 3
  • Shadowrun: Hong Kong
  • Nobunaga’s Ambition: Sphere of Influence
  • Persona 4: Dancing All Night
  • Samurai Warriors 4-II
  • Elite: Dangerous
  • Dragon Quest Heroes: The World Tree’s Woe and the Blight Below
  • Sword Coast Legends
  • Tales of Zestiria
  • Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-

Some time later in the month I’ll post my top disappointments of the year 🙂 Until then, have fun.

Leave a Reply

