The Gaming Month Ahead – October I


Someone, somewhere said that there weren’t many big name games coming out end of this year. No real show-stopping numbers, no AAA class titles that people had to buy. Seems the industry has something to say about that. October is a massive megalith of a month that, if you’re not careful, could well drain your wallets dry.

To cope with this deluge of wonderfulness, I’m going to run a feature for each week, so we get a proper look at what’s just round the corner. This week we have FIFA 11. FIFA has managed to keep its crown as best footie experience for quite a while now and from the look of things, this year is to be no different. Both PES and FIFA both have demo’s on PSN and XBL, so decide for yourselves. Read on to see a full list of the months releases.

1st October

  • FIFA 11 (Everything!)
  • Ghost Recon: Predator (PSP)
  • MySims SkyHeroes (PS3/X360/Wii/DS)

8th October

  • PES 2011 (Everything!)
  • Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (PS3/X360)
  • NBA 2K11 (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Castlevania: Lords of Shadow (PS3/360)
  • Heavy Rain: Move Edition (PS3)
  • WRC: World Rally (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light
  • Front Mission Evolved (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Sid Meier’s Pirates (Wii)

15th October

  • Medal of Honor (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Just Dance 2 (Wii)
  • Deadly Premonition (X360)
  • Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm (PS3/X360)
  • Arcania: Gothic 4 (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Borderlands GOTY (PS3/X360/PC)
  • NBA Elite 11 (PS3/X360)
  • Aterlier Rorona: The Alchemist of Arland (PS3)
  • Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes (PS3/Wii)
  • Ben Ten: Cosmic Destruction (Everything!)
  • Legend of the Guardians: Owls of Ga’Hoole (PS3/X360/DS/Wii)

22nd October

  • Fallout: New Vegas (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Professor Layton and the Lost Future (DS)
  • Vanquish (PS3/X360)
  • DJ Hero 2 (PS3/X360/Wii)
  • EA Sports: MMA (PS3/X360)
  • New Carnival: Funfair Games (DS/Wii)
  • Harvest Moon: Hero Sugar Town (PSP)
  • Lego Universe (PC)
  • Dragon Ball Z: Tenkaichi Tag Team (PSP)
  • Nail’d (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Shutter Island (DS)

29th October

  • Fable 3 (X360/PC)
  • WWE: Smackdown Vs Raw 2011 (Everything!)
  • Sims3 : Late Night (PC)
  • Star Wars: Force Unleashed 2 (PS3/X360/Wii/PSP/DS)
  • Two Worlds 2 (PS3/X360/PC)
  • The Sims 3 (PS3/X360/DS)
  • PSMove: The Shoot (PS3)
  • DragonAge: Origins – Ultimate Edition (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Fifa Manager 11 (PC)
  • Rock Band 3 (PS3/X360/Wii/DS)
  • CSI: Fatal Conspiracy (PS3/X360/DS/Wii)
  • Monopoly (DS)
  • Super Scribblenauts (DS)
  • LOTR: Aragorn’s Quest (PS3/Wii/DS)
  • Blazblue: Continuum Shift (PS3/X360)
  • X-Factor (PS3/X360)
  • Saw 2 (PS3/X360)
  • Splatterhouse (PS3/X360)
  • This is Vegas (PS3/X360)
  • Bakugan Battle Brawlers: Defenders of the Core (PS3/X360/DS/PC)
  • Hasbro Family Game Night 3 (X360/PS3/Wii)
  • Ivy The Kiwi (Wii/DS)
  • Monopoly Streets (PS3/X360/DS)
  • Sports Collection (DS)
  • We Sing: Robbie Williams (Wii)
  • John Daly’s ProStoke Gold (PS3/X360/PC)
  • Patapon 3 (PSP)
  • Rapala: Pro Bass Fishing (With Rod) (PS3/X360)
  • Shaun White Skateboarding (PS3/X360/DS/Wii)
  • So Blonde: Back to the Island (DS/Wii)
7 Comments Add yours

  1. BigBob says:

    NBA Elite 11 is delayed till next year going by the rumblings on the inter web, as for Fable 3 that is going to be delayed as Peter Molyneux needs to find a way to splice a dog and a small boy together to form a “Bog” his idea of a perfect gaming companion.

  2. valaysir says:

    Fable PC I think may be delayed, 360 is still on target. Though I may hold off Fable as DragonAge is likely to take up my time with its DLC and expansions šŸ™‚

  3. Haify says:

    This is vegas has been canned so I’ve heard!

    I’ve got MoH on pre-order so I know I be getting that one straight away and might pick up Vanquish, castlevania and enslaved at some point too.

  4. davekma says:

    OK, is someone having a laugh with that many releases on the 29th?! Jesus Christ. Ugh, don’t even want to think what the charts are going to be like that thursday :/

    Good job I only want 2 of the millions of games on that list I suppose šŸ˜›

    Oh and damn game companies and their incessant need to do GOTY and compilation versions of their games that I bought individually, fuckers (Borderlands and Dragon Age šŸ˜¦ )

  5. valaysir says:

    I don’t get people’s gripe with GOTY editions. It’s the same as when you buy a game on release and then it lower to half price in about two months. Most people don’t wait for that price drop. The GOTY is meant to lure in new players into a game. I spent around Ā£80 on Fallout 3 and all it’s DLC – while the GOTY came out at around Ā£20. But I played it well over a year before and with the DLC at a nice release pace. I’m not complaining.

  6. davekma says:

    I know, I know, I shouldn’t complain, I got the game much earlier and all that, also only paid Ā£20 for my Collector’s edition of Fallout on PC, shouldn’t grumble too much.

    Forgive me Aysir, I’m just a cheapskate at heart, pure and simple šŸ˜› Though I suppose, at the end of the day, I’m doing my bit in funding good game makers and helping them to continue making good games in the future.

    Which reminds me, must get the new Mass Effect DLC at some point.

  7. BigBob says:

    As long as I get my GT5 limited edition in November I am a happy bunny šŸ™‚ game prices is not an issue if you pace yourself when it comes to game purchases.

    I waited a whole year just to get my hands on a cheap copy of prototype, and 6 years for GT5.

Leave a Reply

