PS3 Firmware 3.40 live along with PSN Plus

on

4704464856_6179581203_o

The morning brings mass traffic on the PSN network and a new firmware update. The PSN Plus service has been launched and offers games like Wipeout, Gravity Crash and Destruction Derby as freebies (as well as LittleBigPlanet is you fork out for the year subscription). The new firmware update brings a host of new goodies too. PS3 now has a video editor. I haven’t had a chance to tangle with it yet and so it’s to be seen how good it is, but I’m guessing at a basic copy of Windows Movie Maker as opposed to something fancy like Sony Vegas. Facebook options have also been expanded with the Photo Gallery app now allowing you to browse photos already on Facebook and allowing you to upload new ones, straight from your PS3.  Head over to the EU PS3 Blog for full details.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. DeadmanXIII says:

    I’m gonna sign up as soon as I get in. I worry about how the internetz traffic is gonna effect Uncharted 2 tonight.

    I had no idea about the video editing thing. Maybe the playstation eye is gonna get some major use now!!

  2. valaysir says:

    I was having some trouble signing in earlier. UC2 takes place when the US is gonna start getting busy. I have a feeling it may be a troubled night.

  3. Haify says:

    I’ve went and got myself some PSN plus for my copy of LBP and see what its like for the first year, only bad things I’ve came across so far most of the free stuff I all ready have which sucks and the discount isn’t the greatest so far its like £1 or 2 off :\

  4. valaysir says:

    It was always bound to be the case with the initial load (unless they’d saved up something mega) but I’m hoping the months ahead prove to have newer content in a similar fashion.

    1. Haify says:

      Hopefully indeed, best thing to start with is that you can get wipeout HD free 😀 and LBP!!

      1. Haify says:

        Looks like america got an Infamous trial and more discounted games from midway and tik games

Leave a Reply

