Little Big Planet 2 – Now with added genres!

on

Littlebig Planet 2 has now been officially announced and although I didn’t think it was possible, I am more excited by this that the original LBP. LBP2 promises the ability to make lots of different types of games, not just platformers. With the ability to change the camera angle and add AI bots, LBP really has become a platform to make games. The prospect of hand crafting RPG’s involving Sack people really is something to look forward to (well it is for me 🙂 ) As if that wasn’t enough, despite an enhancement to the graphics, all previously made community levels (numbering near the 2 million mark) will be compatible and take advantage of improvements made to the engine. One of the most helpful features for myself however, is the ability to use mouse and keyboard when making the levels. While Media Molecule insist the Dualshock is still the best way to control the pop-it tool, I will certainly be turning to the mouse and keyboard for crafting my dream worlds. The current release window is Winter 2010 and while it will certainly use the Playstation Move, it is yet to be confirmed if it will have this functionality out of the box. More importantly, we can all breath a sigh of relief, Stephen Fry will be returning :).

2 Comments Add yours

  1. deadmanxiii says:

    Dante and i were talking about what to expect from this, i thought they might stick with platform games but move into 3D platformers, Mario Galaxy style. Given that Toy Story 3 seems to be heading that direction, it wasnt unreasonable thinking.

    Opening it up as a platform for game creation is a genious idea, good luck MM!

  2. Haify says:

    I have to say it does look nice, I have been very tempted to pick up a copy of the first one again as I miss the metal gear levels and mirror’s edge ones haha.

    I never got around to trying to make a level myself which is a shame but if its going to use a keyboard and mouse thats a plus side for me trying this time around me thinks.

    Also Stephen Fry is a legend!! Its fantastic news to hear his back wooo!

Leave a Reply

